January Blog Carnival: Holidays/celebrations Abroad

This is the January edition of the Reach to Teach Teach Abroad Blog Carnival. This is a monthly series that provides helpful tips to ESL teachers around the globe.  If you’d like to get involved in next month’s carnival, please get in touch with Dean at dean@reachtoteachrecruiting.com. The topic this month is about how we cope with spending holidays/celebrations abroad. Read the blogs below to learn more about how we celebrate while so many miles from home.

Shay and Zach: Ho, Ho……Homesick 

Hello!  Our names are Shay and Zach and together we make up the team that is “Internationally In Debt.”  We are both Chicago natives, have been dating for over seven years, and have lived in Taipei for about 14 months now.  We love our lives here and live them to the fullest despite the fact that we have a  student debt load of over US$140,000.  We hope to prove that you can do it, too!

Living abroad is an amazing experience, and one that we would never give up. But, there is one time of the year that does tend to leave us Ho, Ho,…Homesick.  Check out some of the problems (and their solutions) we have encountered while living abroad over the holidays.

 Tiffany Molyneux: …If Only in my Dreams…

Hello! My name is Tiffany Molyneux. I am a 29 year old from South Florida. I completed 6 years teaching in Florida, before moving to South Korea. I am in my second year teaching English in South Korea. I love God, people, and adventure.  

I just spent my 2nd Christmas away from home. Living abroad can be a wonderful experience, but it also comes with a downside being so far away from family and friends back home.  This blog talks more about my experience this past Christmas and New Years.

 

Dean Barnes

http://www.reachtoteachrecruiting.com/blog/how-do-you-cope-with-missing-holidayscelebrations-while-living-abroad/

 

How do I cope with missing holidays/celebrations whilst living abroad? Well aside from walking around on an Easter egg hunt singing Christmas carols, doused in tinsel, with baubles hanging from my ears carrying a birthday cake, I try to first breathe and think about the long run.

 

Author Bio: My name is Dean, I have been traveling for around 2 and a half years now with a small stint back in my home country. I’m from the UK and I began my teaching career on the island of Bali. I then made the move to Taiwan where I currently reside. Here I have the joy to fulfill my passion for writing by providing ESL/travel related articles to the Reach To Teach website.

 

About mollyknows27

I teach English at Younghae Elementary. I love adventure. I love Jesus. I love people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January Blog Carnival: Holidays/celebrations Abroad

  1. Pingback: Ho, Ho, …Homesick | Internationally In Debt

  2. Pingback: Join The RTT Teach Abroad Blog Carnival - Reach to Teach

Leave a Reply

